The struggle is real

You never know when it will happen.  You always think it won’t happen to you, but then the unthinkable happens.  You lose your job. In the beginning I wasn’t really all that upset about me being fired from my job of 13 almost 14 years.  I was fired 2 days before my 14th year started.

I figure I would find something relatively easy to get another one.  Boy was I wrong.   I have applied, applied and applied some more.  I have had a total of 4 in person interviews out of the hundreds of applications and resumes.  I had about a dozen phone interviews.  I think a few of them I priced my self out of the job.  But I have bills that need to be paid and $8.00 an hour doesn’t cut it.  I was making almost $16.00 an hour at my old job.  So I am unwilling to go below $10.00 an hour.

I know folks are probably thinking well that is more then what you are making now, you should take it.  True it is a job but if I have to travel 30 to 60 minutes to get to the job that uses gas which cost money.  Right now gas is $3.69 a gallon in my area.  If I am making  $8.00 an hour working 40 hours a week that is $320.00 a week $640.00 every two weeks.  That is before taxes and any health insurance payment I would have to pay.  See where I am going with that. I still would have to fill up my gas tank figure out what bill I could pay and hope there is enough left over to buy groceries.

I also don’t want to get stuck in a shit job and not be able to get out of it.  I don’t qualify for any assistance because I don’t have a disability nor do I have children.  I was actually told by a case worker …

Case Worker: You have a car that is paid off.  It is considered an asset worth $8,000.

Me: Yes I do.

Case Worker: Well to be honest you should sell it.  Buy food and pay some bills with it.

Me: O_o

Me: How would I get to job interviews? How would I get to the job once I got it?

Case Worker: Your car is considered an asset, you would need to sell it in order to get help from us.

Me: How is that helping me, by crippling me further.  No wonder folks are stuck and can’t move forward.

Me: Are you going to take me to my job interviews? Are you going to take to work once I got the job?

Case Worker: *audible silence*

Case Worker: Is there anything else I can help you with?

Me: >_< No you have been plenty helpful

Case Worker:  Have a great day.  Hope everything works out for you.

Me: *slams phone down* Fucking got to be kidding me (mind you I have a cell phone you can slam the phone down to hang up anymore like you could with land lines)

Having no job and no immediate source of income coming in (besides Beloveds) has been really rough.

But each day is a new day.  I get up I check online to all of my usual haunts and see what is out there.  I know something will happen for me.  That job that fits my needs will be there.  But I have to keep looking and keep my head up.

But there are some days man.  Keeping my head up is hard.  Wondering why I keep getting passed over is brutal.  But at one point I stop and I think about the fact that I am not the only person who is looking for a job.  One of the jobs I interview for a while ago the Manager said for the 2 positions he had open over 500 people applied for the jobs.  It took him 2 weeks to weed through them to find 10 candidates who were qualified for the job.  Thankfully I was 1 of 10.  But 2 of the people had more experience then I did so they got the positions.

So I know what I am up against.  I know I have to make sure my resume pops.  So that way I get notice.  But man it is rough

The struggle is real……

Namaste

3 thoughts on “The struggle is real”

Leave a Reply

