Interesting

So venting my frustration with my BFF about applying for jobs and my resume not seeming to go further on Thursday morning. She happen to mention to me about the ATS (application tracking system).  I had not even considered that a lot of companies may be using that system to weed out candidates who didn’t qualify according to keywords they have imputed in for better results.

The jobs I had applied for I qualify for, but because I didn’t have the “keywords” my application was being looked over and deem not qualified.

So I decided to do a rework of my resume including in the keywords from the job description. Again for clarification all of the keywords and the job description were of jobs I knew how to do.  I re-applied for 4 position Thursday night using the reworked resume and load and behold my application moved forward to Human Resources by Friday afternoon.  So we shall see what happens.

It just adds another level of frustration to an already frustrating situation where you have to jump through freaking hoops just to be noticed.. I am sure there are lots of people out there who are not aware of the ATS at all.  SO for those who are out there wondering what in the freaking frying pan hell is wrong with you, it is not you it is the system.

On the yoga front, my hip is still killing me.  I have an doctor appointment on the 26th and hopefully we can find out what is going on.  Ugh I can only do the really simple poses any bending, sitting on the floor or twisting is a no go.

2 thoughts on “Interesting”

  1. So glad it worked!!!!!! You make it sound all professional, I didn’t know the software had a name. It’s employers market, you can work for peanuts and I will spend millions on trainings telling you how lucky you are to have a job!

Leave a Reply

